Goodbye Berlin, Hello Bremen

I’ve been in Bremen for about three weeks now. The city is beautiful, with a picturesque old center and so many parks all over the place. I can walk from my house to the city center in the middle of a park or along the Weser (the main river in Bremen). It’s a little bit less crazy here than in Berlin, but there is definitely more of a student presence in the city. Bremen is a lot smaller than Berlin, so I can generally walk anywhere I need to if I allow myself enough time. I love the cities on the water here in Germany. I have so many pictures taken from bridges, and I especially love it at night with the reflections of the city lights on the water. I live in the Viertel, which is a pretty awesome place. I’m two minutes from the river, 10 minutes walking from downtown, and all the best bars and pubs are here. My housemate is from Mexico. His name is Alan and he is studying Industrial Engineering. Our landlady is from Tunisia and she is a nanny during the week, which means I get to see a little bit of how children are raised in Germany.

I’m planning to take 5 classes this semester at Hochschule Bremen. The first is Design and Modeling of Space Propulsion Systems, where I’ll learn about liquid rocket engines and design and model one over the course of the semester. The next two classes are Satellite Communications and Advanced Aerospace Composite Design. I’m really looking forward to these two classes, because they I are topics I’m interested in but have never studied before. On Thursdays I have Computer Aided Optimization. I’m really excited for this class because the field is only about 25 years old, and I think it will be a great skill to have. My last class is is a design project. I’m on a team designing and building a sounding rocket payload that will be launched next April in Northern Sweden. This is an insanely cool project, and I’m looking forward to how it unfolds.

Berlin was a great experience, but I’m really looking forward to settling in here in Bremen. The atmosphere is a little more relaxed, and so far there is a good balance of studying and fun. Bremen has a really interesting and long history, so there is plenty here to discover. I’m also fairly close to Hamburg and Amsterdam, so I will definitely be taking some trips in the next few weeks.

There is lots of waterfront in Bremen, and all of it is gorgeous.
There is lots of waterfront in Bremen, and all of it is gorgeous.
The churches and stained glass look really cool at night.
The churches and stained glass look really cool at night.
Enjoying the carnival in Bremen!
Enjoying the carnival in Bremen!
Enjoying an evening stroll through downtown Bremen with some of my friends!
Enjoying an evening stroll through downtown Bremen with some of my friends!
The main train station in Bremen!
The main train station in Bremen!
One of the two old churches in Bremen.
One of the two old churches in Bremen.
Even the banks here are cool! This is mine.
Even the banks here are cool! This is mine.
Last time taking the subway in Berlin!
Last time taking the subway in Berlin!
One thought on “Goodbye Berlin, Hello Bremen

Leave a Reply

